Cadillac CTS coupe… is it any good?

I have been living with the new Cadillac CTS coupe for the last few days, and I am quite puzzled about it.

First there are the looks. Some love it, some hate it. I quite like it, I think it is quirky, unusual and interesting. And although it looks like it has a rear hatch, it doesn’t. However, the trunk is actually quite spacious.

The interior is not though. I am not tall (5ft8in) and yet I find it lacking in headroom. I also find placing this car on the road a little tricky because it is very hard to judge its corners and its steering is not very communicative.

The test car I have has the 3.6-liter, V6 motor which produces 304 hp. Mine is also mated to a six-speed automatic. The transmission is sluggish and in its manual over-ride mode I find the shifts very slow. The engine itself is fine. It’s quiet most of the time, but when pushed it makes a nice growl.

Regardless of your pushing it or not, it drinks a lot of gas. It is almost impossible to average better than 15-liters/100km, which is a lot worse than its competition.

It doesn’t handle as well as the competition either, and at $47,450 for a base model, it ain’t cheap either.

So how to sum up this new Cadillac coupe?

It looks nice, you get decent amount of toys inside and it is comfortable. It is not the best at anything, but it is interesting. I like cars that are flawed but interesting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

