A 1990 Lamborghini Countach – and how I got my seat time in it…

Countach_anniversary_02Dream cars – all car enthusiasts have at least one that tugs on their heart strings. I am no exception. Since I was four-years old, I have been madly in love with the Lamborghini Countach. I had seen one at an auto show in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; and the sight of this sleek, wheeled missile with scissor doors just spoke to me like no other car ever did. From this moment on, I knew I liked cars, and will want to end up doing stuff revolving around them.
With just 2,042 examples of the Countach ever made, and always holding price tags that could never be described as cheap, getting my hands on my dream car was never going to be easy.
lamborghini_countach_25th_anniversary_001That all changed thanks to a chance encounter with a businessman in London, Ontario back in 1998. Upon our initial meetings, he realized that I know a thing or two about cars, and since he also was a car enthusiast, we got along quite well.
One day, he informed me that he is looking to buy a 1990 Lamborghini Countach 25th Anniversary Edition, and wanted my input on this matter. At first I thought he was kidding, but I soon realized that he wasn’t.
When the negotiations for the car got serious, he made arrangements to have the dealership bring the car to him on a flatbed. He then asked me if I would be available on the day the car will be in London? Hmm… let me check my schedule, yes, it is completely open.
I waited for this day very impatiently, and when it arrived, I got tasked to drop an uncle of mine to the airport in Toronto. Oh crap, please not today I pleaded. Not having a choice, I drove like a man possessed, and made it to Toronto and back in just four hours.
When I got back into London, I went to the agreed meeting spot for the car, but didn’t see it. I was now nervously twitching, and since I didn’t have a cell phone back then, I couldn’t call the guy either. Thankfully, after a few minutes, the car shows up. The businessman got out of the car, turned to the guy from the dealership and said “I was waiting for him, let him drive it, I want his opinion on it.” The dealership guy replied, if this is what’s keeping you from signing the dotted line – he signals to me – let’s go. Countach_25th_03I strap myself in, closed the scissor-door, fired up its 5.2-litre, V12 engine, and I was away. I could not believe that I was finally driving a Countach. At first, I was going very slowly, being very careful with it. The dealership guy turns to me and says, to get the true Lambo experience, I should bury the throttle, so I did. My world suddenly became a cocoon of noise and speed, as the car put all of its 455 horses to work. I was now smiling like a lottery winner. However, all to soon, my drive time was over and I had to get out.
The critic in me would like to point out that the clutch, the steering, and the brakes are very heavy. The pedal box is very narrow and offset to the right, the windows only open a few inches, and that the climate control system wasn’t working properly.
I didn’t care, I had just driven a car I’d been dreaming about all my life, and that’s all that mattered.
My new “BFF” didn’t end up buying the Countach, – he opted to get a much newer Porsche 996 instead – mainly because he could fit in it much more comfortably. I haven’t driven another Countach since that day back in December 1998, but I remember it like it was yesterday, and am truly grateful to have had experienced my childhood dream.Lamborghini_Countach_04

This entry was posted in auto, cars and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A 1990 Lamborghini Countach – and how I got my seat time in it…

  1. GibboUX says:

    Reblogged this on Autoshowroom UK and commented:
    A very enjoyable and informative read.

Leave a Reply

